FNCB Answers to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is Eligible to Take the FNCB Certifications?

Multiple professionals are team members, but the ONLY approved to population to take the FNCB Certification examinations are those who are licensed as a 

Registered Nurse (RN), including RNs with graduate preparation.

What About Taking the Examination?

What do I need to study?

There are three pillars in the Lynch Conceptual Framework – Legal, Forensic Science, and Nursing. The STUDY GUIDES have content outlines with links to assist the Candidate in studying the CONTENT used to create the examination in each pillar. 

Is there a practice test?

Yes, you may purchase a practice test in the FNCB store. The Content Outline will be emailed only to applicants who are eligible to test.

Can I copy the questions to help me study?

No. The examination questions are proprietary, copyrighted, and protected. Also, you are also asked to sign an attestation that you have read and understand the handbook, especially the part about FNCB proprietary property. Download the FREE handbook here!

What if I pass the test?

Congratulations! You will be notified within 4 weeks that you passed the test. You will receive a FNCB email  indicating how to download your certificate.

What if I fail the Certification examination?

You will be notified within 4 weeks that you did not pass the test. You will receive an FNCB email notification. Each test taker has the opportunity to retake the test 1 time within a year of application at a discounted rate. If greater than 1 year, re-application at current rate is required. 

In 2024, the strategic plan is for the FNCB to notify your state Board of Nursing and your alma mater (if you graduated from an accredited forensic nursing program) of your achievement. 

Accreditation of the FNCB Certification Examination Process

Why is FNCB applying for accreditation of the offerings?

FNCB is pursuing accreditation of the certification examination process through the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC). ABSNC is a third-­­party entity and the only accrediting organization specifically dedicated to evaluating nursing certification programs. Accredited certifications undergo rigorous self-assessment and peer review prior to accreditation being granted and are routinely evaluated to ensure continued compliance with standards and policies that demonstrate the quality of the certification. Accreditation further fosters accountability to the public and the communities of interest to forensic nurses.

Are the Generalist or Advanced Forensic Nurse certifications accredited?

In order to be accredited, either one year of testers or 100 examinations must be taken. At that time, the FNCB will apply for accreditation. Stay tuned because the FNCB and the Certified forensic nurses now number over 100!

What does it mean for the certification test to be accredited?

It means that FNCB met the minimum standard for the development and delivery of the first Generalist and Advanced Forensic Nursing certifications by following the recommendations of the American Board of Nursing Specialties and the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification standards. Meeting the standards for accreditation of the certification examination also means that each future micro-certification examinations meet the highest standards for testing in nursing.  Finally, accreditation of FNCB certification examination process meets the Magnet Status criteria for accredited certifications!

Development of Accredited Certifications

Why is the certification of Forensic Nurses important for me?

Certification of Forensic Nurses signifies mastery of specialty knowledge necessary for the application of the unique science to guide practice. When certified, the credential demonstrate to the community of stakeholders, you are committed to excellence in the science and practice of forensic nurses globally.

I thought certifications were based on a job description and is there a job description for a generalist forensic nurse?

Few certifications are based on job descriptions since the description is specific for a particular role in an organization. Professional nursing certifications have a basis in nursing science and theory, with psychomotor skills and critical thinking at the entry level. Advanced levels of forensic nurses meet leadership, quality and safety, and evaluations that promote innovations in the expert role of the forensic nurse. The expectations of the forensic nurse have a basis in educational requirements, core competencies, and performance measures, not typically on a job description. The FNCB Generalist and Advanced Forensic Nursing Certifications are based on: the formal education, license, and scope of practice for the registered nurse, identified as Type I (BSN) and Type II (MSN, DNP, PhD) nursing levels, and the additional sciences necessary for specialty practice beginning with Lynch’s Concept of the Forensic Nurse Role and Lynch’s Theoretical Framework (1991), adding the FNCB Core Competencies (2021), and current science and evidence-base required for practice as a forensic nurse, regardless of license, environment, organization, or population intersecting with legal systems.

Where do I find the document, Forensic Nursing Core Competencies?

Click here to view the FNCB Forensic Nursing Core Competencies SUMMARY

Are there Discounts?

Are there discounts available?

Yes, discounts are available for Academy of Forensic Nursing members. To join, visit: www.goafn.org

FNCB remains supportive to all organizations promoting FNCB certifications!

Credentials - What's in the name?

What is a professional nursing certification?

The difference between certification, micro-certification, micro-credential, badges, and certificates is:

Types of Credentials in Nursing

Professional certification is the voluntary process by which a non-governmental entity grants a time-limited recognition and use of a credential to an individual after verifying that he or she has met predetermined and standardized criteria. It is the vehicle that a profession or occupation uses to differentiate among its members, using standards, sometimes developed through a consensus-driven process, based on existing legal and psychometric requirements. The holder of a professional certification is called a certificant.

Micro-Certification, also called micro-credential is a short, focused credential that is generally earned by completing a course, seminar, or series of modules. Micro-credentials are usually offered in person, online, asynchronously, at a relatively low cost, and take less time to complete than a traditional college course. Micro-credentials verify, validate, and attest specific skills and minimum competency has been achieved.

Badges are great for specific skills and achievements; for an explanation see https://www.learningoutcomesassessment.org/documents/Assessment_in_Practice_Digital_Badges.pdf

Certificate of Attendance: A certificate stands alone and covers related topics for contextualizing your learning. A certificate of attendance does not certify specific skills or knowledge, only attendance, and is often given as a Certificate after attending Continuing Education.